top of page

SCUMFIRE "Locals Only"


Scumfire sounds like the musical equivalent of attempting to headbutt your way through a brick wall. Our track of the week is pure onslaught with short reprieves where you can catch your breath just enough not to pass out before it all starts again. In fact, there have been a few times in my life where things got so bad all I could do was punch my bed about 58 times. Something’s going wrong and you have no control over it and really it’s all you can do so you do it.


That’s the genre of music my brother makes.


Having known him for his entire life, it makes sense. He cut his teeth on Rage Against the Machine, Blood Brothers, Fall of Troy and Busta Rhymes. He’s one of the few people I know that celebrates his dark side and even though that isn’t for me, I can still appreciate the guts it takes to live in that fire. It had me wondering, what the hell is he actually saying in this song? Ryan was kind enough to send me the lyrics, but I couldn’t really decipher them. Here’s an excerpt for your own consideration…


The bastard son of the elder rat

Has blood stained hands

Kill it off

Oh my god, this is an all time high

Wait, hand to mouth,

This is an all time low

Take me home


I’ve heard many other bands that fall inside similar genre-lines and they never quite achieve the precision of Scumfire. The blast beats and sledgehammering guitars are always contrasted by such tasteful moments of negative spacing that you’re able to take the ride and not burn out.



Комментарии


bottom of page