top of page

GAINE$ "Act II (The Fires on the Horizon)


I met Gaine$ through Toneyboi when they came in to speak with my Music Production class. I don’t give the guest speakers much instruction, I just ask them to share their story in their own way. I was struck by the way Gaine$ communicated the pressures and responsibilities of being a successful artist in ways that seemed accessible for young people. He was so genuine and honest that they were hanging on his words, and so was I.


Getting to know him a little before hearing his music probably influenced the way I perceive it. Even still, you can sense an evolved spirituality threaded through the rhymes. For Gaine$, getting high and making music is both a way to survive and a vehicle for transcendence, “means and ends they done met up.” His lyrics highlight the veil between decisions made right now and a future of uncertainty, searching for the right path forward. My favorite stanza is a perfect summary...


You keep takin the leeway

Please leave me no leeway

I was born to open these gates

Together smoking weed pray

See me when you see me

Prolly on the tv


Gaine$ has a very special appearance lined up in March, be sure to grab tickets here. Also watch out for the new album dropping soon.


コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
bottom of page