top of page

SLOWSO. "Kennedy (Prod.Program)"


Last year I got wrapped up in a local album that never really left my rotation (and still hasn’t). Slowso.’s Reclusism is a set of instrumental hip hop that soundtracked my Summer long bike commute and I had him at the top of my list when ZUZU got rolling. His most recent release, “Things I Have,” sees slowso. stepping out from the shadows of production and up to the microphone.


From the opening section of our track of the week, a guitar line bends its head up out of the 70s and into a tight break from Program, the man behind the boards for this one. It feels like I’m driving through Tonawanda in the passenger seat of my Dad’s Dodge Dynasty listening to “Horse with no Name” until the bass drops and the verses start up. Imagine Jon Wayne up a half octave, slowso.’s lyricism chews up the track like a current of electricity seeping out of a clenched jaw. “I got the blues like holiday, I'm trying to dig through the dirt for the flowers that's inside of me.“ It calls to mind a favorite Buddhist teaching - no mud, no lotus.


Chill beats, great flow - that’s slowso.


Comentários


bottom of page